web hosting

JavaScript

JavaScript belongs to the big three of web hosting: Besides HTML (page structure) and CSS (Representation) offers the object-oriented programming language Dynamization of content. But JavaScript is not only applicable in the context of page design. Server-side applications can also be controlled with JavaScript.

Origins of JavaScript

Despite its name, JavaScript has little to do with Java. Originally, the scripting language was to be called LiveScript and was developed by Netscape for the interaction of Netscape Navigator with Java applets (Java client applications). As an actually proprietary Software JavaScript was a competitive factor for companies like Microsoft dar. These responded to the development of JavaScript with their own solutions such as the script language JScript. Over time, however, JavaScript became the primary scripting language for client-side and (besides php) server-side dynamization.

Client-side dynamization

Probably the most used Function of JavaScript is the possibility of client-side dynamization. The client is the web browser. Client-side dynamization means that the contents displayed in the client are manipulated. HTML is the static Description the structure of a web presence, the so-called Document Object Model (DOM). While CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) is used for the separate design of this "skeleton", JavaScript offers the possibility of moving, deleting or adding HTML elements.

This DOM manipulation (DOM scripting) can be used in many ways. Via so-called event handlers Functions is initially linked to certain events. These can be Clicks by the user, times or even the loading of the website. Using the ID's assigned to elements in HTML, event-based changes can then be triggered. This can range from programming simple, dynamic forms or table filters to embedding Video-players or complex, dynamic graphics.

JQuery: The more uncomplicated JavaScript

JavaScript is an example of object-oriented programming languages. As such, the entry threshold for inexperienced web designers is relatively high. Without restricting the functionality of JavaScript (greatly), the JavaScript library JQuery a simplified syntax that allows the most common use cases to be handled quickly and easily While JavaScript with the definition of prototypes (instead of classes), instances (concrete objects) and methods (functions bound to objects) has a similar complexity and changeability as Java or Python offers, JQuery restricts the vocabulary and structures. The commands are nestable, so that the structure right can be quickly understood. Therefore, as long as it is not about complex, unusual applications, there is most likely a simple solution in JQuery.

Server-side dynamization: AJAX and Node.js

In addition to DOM manipulation, JavaScript is also used for communication with servers, such as database queries. Since 2009 node.js, a framework for server-side dynamization with JavaScript. This was already possible before 2009, but node.js makes it easier to integrate. This is an advantage for JavaScript programmers, because they don't have to use other languages like php anymore. In addition, node.js also allows the parallelization of processes. This is an advantage, because too many of these so-called threads can lead to a standstill. With node.js, requests run through a single thread, which can increase performance considerably.

Node.js is an example for the possibilities of AJAX. The acronym stands for a procedure called Asynchronous JavaScript and XML. This principle makes it possible to retrieve content from servers without having to reload the entire page. For many web offers like YouTube would be a complete reload after video requests or the loading Comments a great disadvantage. AJAX is also a solution to the problem of accumulating requests thanks to the asynchronous processing as explained above for Node.js.

Integration of JavaScript

The basic integration of JavaScript in web offers works exactly the same way as the connection with CSS files. So there are two possibilities for this: On the one hand, JavaScript can be used in the head or in the body of the HTML document.

 

Please divide the contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Latest posts

Recommended video from our Youtube Channel

JavaScript

0
12
javascript

JavaScript gehört zu den großen drei des Webhostings: Neben HTML (Seitenstruktur) und CSS (Darstellung) bietet die objektorientierte Programmiersprache Dynamisierung von Inhalten. Aber JavaScript ist nicht nur im Kontext der Seitengestaltung einsetzbar. Auch serverseitige Anwendungen können mit JavaScript kontrolliert werden.

Ursprünge von JavaScript

Trotz des Namens hat JavaScript nur wenig mit Java zu tun. Ursprünglich sollte die Skriptsprache LiveScript heißen und wurde von Netscape für die Interaktion des Netscape Navigators mit Java-Applets (Java-Clientanwendungen) entwickelt. Als eigentlich proprietäre Software stellte JavaScript einen Konkurrenzfaktor für Firmen wie Microsoft dar. Diese antworteten auf die Entwicklung von JavaScript mit eigenen Lösungen wie der Skriptsprache JScript. Über die Zeit setzte sich JavaScript jedoch als primäre, inzwischen von allen Browsern unterstützte Skriptsprache für clientseitige und (neben php) serverseitige Dynamisierung durch.

Clientseitige Dynamisierung

Die wohl meistgenutzte Funktion von JavaScript ist die Möglichkeit der clientseitigen Dynamisierung. Bei dem Client handelt es sich um den Webbrowser. Mit clientseitiger Dynamisierung ist gemeint, dass die im Client konkret angezeigten Inhalte manipuliert werden. HTML ist die statische Beschreibung der Struktur eines Webauftritts, das sogenannte Document Object Model (DOM). Während CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) für die separate Ausgestaltung dieses „Skeletts“ genutzt wird, bietet JavaScript die Möglichkeit des Verschiebens, Löschens oder Hinzufügens von HTML-Elementen.

Diese DOM-Manipulation (DOM-Scripting) kann auf vielseitige Arten und Weisen eingesetzt werden. Über sogenannte Event-Handler werden Funktionen zunächst an bestimmte Ereignisse gebunden. Dies können Klicks durch den User, Zeitpunkte oder auch das Laden der Internetseite sein. Über die im HTML an Elemente vergebenen ID’s können dann ereignisbasiert Veränderungen ausgelöst werden. Dies kann von der Programmierung einfacher, dynamischer Formulare oder Tabellenfiltern hin zur Einbettung von Video-Playern oder komplexer, dynamischer Grafik alles umfassen.

JQuery: Das unkompliziertere JavaScript

JavaScript ist ein Beispiel für objektorientierte Programmiersprachen. Als solche ist die Einstiegsschwelle für unerfahrene Webdesigner relativ hoch. Ohne die Funktionalität von JavaScript (groß) einzuschränken, bietet die JavaScript-Library JQuery eine vereinfachte Syntax, die die gebräuchlichsten Anwendungsfälle auf schnelle und einfache Weise ermöglicht. Während JavaScript mit der Definition von Prototypen (statt Klassen), Instanzen (konkrete Objekte) und Methoden (an Objekte gebundene Funktionen) eine ähnliche Komplexität und Wandelbarkeit wie etwa Java oder Python bietet, schränkt JQuery das Vokabular und die Strukturen ein. Die Befehle sind schachtelbar aufgebaut, so dass der Aufbau recht schnell verstanden werden kann. Sofern es daher nicht um komplexe, unübliche Anwendungen geht, existiert mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit eine einfache Lösung in JQuery.

Serverseitige Dynamisierung: AJAX und Node.js

Neben DOM-Manipulation wird JavaScript auch zur Kommunikation mit Servern, etwa Datenbankabfragen, eingesetzt. Seit 2009 gibt es node.js, ein Framework für die serverseitige Dynamisierung mit JavaScript. Schon vor 2009 war das möglich, aber node.js ermöglicht eine einfachere Einbindung. Für JavaScript-Programmierer ist dies ein Vorteil, da dann nicht mehr auf andere Sprachen wie php zurückgegriffen werden muss. Daneben ermöglicht node.js aber auch eine Parallelisierung von Prozessen. Dies ist ein Vorteil, da zuviele von derlei sogenannten Threads zu einem Stillstand führen können. Mit node.js laufen Anfragen über einen einzigen Thread, was die Performance wesentlich erhöhen kann.

Node.js ist ein Beispiel für die Möglichkeiten von AJAX. Das Akronym steht für ein Vorgehen namens Asynchronous JavaScript and XML. Dieses Prinzip ermöglicht es, Inhalte von Servern abzufragen ohne die gesamte Seite neu laden zu müssen. Für viele Webangebote wie YouTube wäre ein komplettes Neuladen nach Videoanfragen oder dem Laden der Kommentare ein großer Nachteil. AJAX ist dank des asynchronen Verarbeitens, wie oben für Node.js erklärt, auch eine Lösung für das Problem sich anhäufender Anfragen.

Einbindung von JavaScript

Die grundlegende Einbindung von JavaScript in Web-Angebote funktioniert genau so, wie die Verbindung mit CSS-Dateien. Hierfür gibt es also zwei Möglichkeiten: Einerseits kann JavaScript im Head oder andererseits im Body des HTML-Dokuments eingesetzt werden.

 

HINTERLASSEN SIE EINE ANTWORT

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here